Historic Preservation Awards of Merit

The Historic Preservation Commission recognizes people, projects, and organizations with an outstanding commitment to historic preservation every year. Historic Preservation Awards of Merit are announced each May to commemorate National Historic Preservation Month.

Community members can submit nominations in a variety of categories: 

  • Individuals or Institutions
  • Residential Property Projects
  • Commercial, Institutional, or Government Property Projects
  • Mixed-Use Projects (Commercial and Residential or others) 
  • Interior Rehabilitation
  • Infill or New Construction
  • Innovative Solutions in Preservation
  • Archaeology

Projects must be located in the city limits and have been completed within the last five years to be nominated. Work must be substantially completed by March 15 of the current year. Rehabilitation projects should follow the Secretary of the Interior Standards and projects outside of designated historic districts are encouraged. 

More information about nominations will be published nearer to Historic Preservation Month. Award winners are announced in May and celebrated at the Historic Preservation Commission's May meeting.