The City Clerk's Office is responsible for the licensing of certain types of businesses that are permitted by the pdf City Charter (268 KB) . A description of those licenses is provided below along with the applicable forms, fees, and any other requirements. Certain businesses may also require licensing from other governmental agencies such as Kalamazoo County (commonly for food service businesses) or the State of Michigan.
Dance Hall License
A Dance Hall license is required for any facility that hosts more than two public dances per year. The permit authorizes an unlimited number of events for one year from the date of issuance. Dance Hall Licenses are not transferrable between individuals or locations. The initial fee for the license is $300 and is renewable for $100 each year. The applicable section of the Code of Ordinances is included with the pdf Application for Dance Hall License and Public Dance Permit (49 KB) .
Public Dance Permit
Public Dance Permits authorize specific events at facilities that host up to two dances per year. This permit is not transferrable between individuals or locations. The initial Dance Permit issued carries a fee of $100, a second permit issued within one year for a public dance at the same location carries a fee of $50. Locations hosting more than two public dances per year are required to obtain a Dance Hall License. The applicable section of the Code of Ordinances is included with the pdf Application for Dance Hall License and Public Dance Permit (49 KB) .
Fireworks Permit (Public Displays)
Approval from both the City of Kalamazoo and the Michigan State Police is required to hold a public fireworks display. The pdf City of Kalamazoo Fireworks Display Application (14 KB) and the Michigan State Police Fireworks Display Permit Application must both be submitted for approval and a certificate of comprehensive general or personal liability insurance for a least $1,000,000, protecting the applicant against property or personal injury damages during the display and naming the City of Kalamazoo, its agents, officials, and employees as additionally insured parties must also accompany the application. Additional information about fireworks from the State of Michigan is available here.
Going Out of Business License
Michigan Act 39 of 1961 states that "No person shall advertise, represent or hold out that any sale of goods is an insurance, bankruptcy, mortgage, insolvent, assignee's, executor's, administrator's, receiver's, trustee's, removal or sale, going out of business or sale of goods damaged by fire, smoke, water or otherwise, unless he first obtains a license to conduct the sale from the clerk of the city, village or township in which he proposes to conduct a sale." The pdf Going Out of Business License Application (100 KB) requires a listing of inventory that is to be liquidated and a $50 fee per month, renewable up to three times.
The Michigan Liquor Control Commission processes requests for retail (bar, restaurant, store), manufacturer & wholesaler (brewery, distillery, winery, broker), and special (charitable, nonprofit) liquor licenses. Kalamazoo Department of Public Safety Detective Bret Pittelkow (available by phone at (269) 337-8142) coordinates pdf liquor license applications (78 KB) for the City. All forms and fees should be submitted to the City Clerk's Office.
Newspaper Vendor License
A Newspaper Vendor License is required to operate any type of newspaper vending machine on public sidewalks. To obtain a license, submit an pdf Application Authorizing the Placement of Newspaper Vending Machines on Public Sidewalks (59 KB) pdf (59 KB) to the City Clerk's Office. An annual application fee of $5 must be submitted with each application. Additional details and insurance requirements are included in the application.
Chapter 24 of Kalamazoo's Code of Ordinances requires licensing of pawnbrokers and secondhand, recycling, and junk dealers. A license fee of $200 per year applies if a record of transactions is submitted to Public Safety electronically. If the required information is not submitted electronically, the license fee is $350 per year. This license year begins on May1; applicants who seek a license after November 1 will pay a prorated fee. pdf Application for Pawnbroker's License (52 KB)
Businesses that involve door-to-door sales must obtain a Peddler's License. This license permits individuals not representing a religious or charitable organization licensed in the state of Michigan to engage in door-to-door sales between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Applicants must submit an pdf Application for Peddler's License (80 KB) , pass a criminal background check, and pay the appropriate fee; $50 for one week, $150 for one month, $300 for six months, and $500 for one year.
Transient Merchant License
Businesses that are engaged in sales at one location on private property that is not owned by the vendor must obtain a Transient Merchant License. The pdf Application for Transient Merchant License (88 KB) requires a criminal background check, the approval of a variance by the Zoning Board of Appeals, and a license fee of $50 for one week, $150 for one month, $300 for six months, and $500 for one year.
Pool Table License
Businesses that charge for the use of a pool table must obtain a pool table license. The fee is $25 per table for the first two tables, and $10 per table thereafter. The pdf Application for Pool Table License (64 KB) requires a character reference, and city staff will verify that the establishment is located in a zone that permits this use.
Precious Metals & Gems License
Recycling Dealer License
The requirements for obtaining a Recycling Dealer License are established in Section 24-16 of the Code of Ordinances. In addition to submitting the pdf Application for Recycling Dealer License (25 KB) and the license fee of $100, applicants must also submit a fully dimensioned site plane of their entire property.
Second Hand Dealer License
Chapter 24 of Kalamazoo's Code of Ordinances outlines the licensing requirements of pawnbrokers and secondhand, recycling, and junk dealers. A license fee of $200 per year applies if a record of transactions is submitted to Public Safety electronically. If the required information is not submitted electronically, the license fee is $350 per year. The license year begins on May1; applicants who seek a license after November 1 will pay a prorated fee. pdf Application for Secondhand Dealer's License (407 KB)
Tag Day License
Chapter 25, Article V of the Kalamazoo Code of Ordinances states "no person shall solicit contributions or sell or offer for sale any tags, poppies, buttons, forget-me-nots, flags, ribbons or other like tokens for any charitable, patriotic or other purpose on the streets or in any public place in the City, without obtaining a permit for conducting the solicitation or sale involved. pdf Application for Tag Day Permit (39 KB)
Vehicle or Driver for Hire Business
Per Chapter 37 of the Kalamazoo Code of Ordinances, businesses that provide transportation as a service for a per-mile charge cannot operate without first obtaining a Vehicle for Hire Business License. The pdf Application for Vehicle for Hire Business Packet (83 KB) includes information on license fees, minimum insurance requirements, and rates & fares. Additional information and forms related to vehicle for hire businesses can be found below:
Links & other licenses
Kalamazoo Mall Vendor License, contact Joe Stark, City of Kalamazoo Right-of-Way Coordinator at (269) 337-8436